Teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past than today

In general, people think that society in the past did not appreciate and value teachers than nowadays. They think that in the past, people punished their students without any permission, which makes students angry at them. However, the notion does not reflect the stance that I hold and should not be thought about in a different light. I believe that teachers in the past were respected and appreciated by society because people today are able to learn many contents through the Internet without teachers and as infant rate is declined in the world, parents would unduly take care of their children whatever their children do.

First of all, today’s people are able to access the internet for learning a great deal of contents. To be specific, as modern technologies have become drastically, people are capable to take advantage of a lot of methods for learning a wide of subjects from beginning to the advanced one. Following these technologies, teachers’ responsibilities are also disappeared. For example, the most powerful engine is website “Youtube”, which provides various video contents including learning and tutorials. Today’s people easily access the site and learn lots from the site. Thus, this proves that teachers in modern society would not be appreciated and valued by society because modern technologies make their status to be lower than in the past.

Moreover, as infant rate is too low in modern societies, parents are likely to unduly take care of their children. In addition, with parents’ caring, children do not tend to respect their teachers, which as a result is today’s societies problems. Further, the population of teacher has declined over time and they also are treated just as teachers not beyond teacher, with lower status than in the past. For instance, a study done by The Korean Herald revealed that teachers today are likely to resign from their position because they are not respected by society. The study indicated that 62 percent of 200 Korean teachers would have their mind with resign their job within five years. This was because they are treated by their students and parents wrongly. They are no longer thinking about teacher that should be respected. As a result, it is legitimate to say that nowadays society are treating teachers less appreciated, valued and respected because of students and parents’ treatment against teachers.

To sum up, I believe that people in the past were more appreciated and valued by society because people in modern society are able to learn a lot of contents from the Internet and teachers are treated as lower status in society by their students and parents. Consequently, the importance of my views cannot be underestimated in that it can kill two birds with one stone for the reasons I have mentioned above. All in all, this trend will probably continue for the next generations.