in times of an economic crises, in which area should governments reduce their spending?1- scientific researches2-art3-park and public gardens

The answer to the question as to what area the government should spend less on whether on scientific researches, art or parks and public gardens during economic crises, is relative to the lens from which one is looking through. The choice of what should be removed from limelight should be made in consideration of what is best for the economy. There is a group of people that may concur with the idea that government spending on parks and public gardens should be reduced and it is with this group of people that I choose to identify with. The rationale behind my viewpoint will be bolstered in the trailing paragraphs.

To begin with, in a situation of economic crises, searchlights should focus on what will most rapidly rescue the economy from such situation and investment in scientific research is what comes to mind. Undoubtedly, scientific research could go a long way to curb further spread of the unpleasant crises and also provide ways to solve the present problem. For instance, during the last recession in Nigeria, scientific research that include the innovation of phones, computers, agricultural equipment, and so on were carried out, and this, to a great extent, pulled us out of the mire of economic crises. Besides, if the government had invested in parks and public gardens, we wouldn't have been able to get out so rapidly, from that recession.

Another vital area that the government should focus on at the climax of an economic downturn is the arts. This is because art is something that is widely accepted. Furthermore, during an economic recession, many people kind of get depressed, and so, their involvement in art exhibition either by participation or by appreciation could be an enormous asset to suppress depression. For example, during the aforementioned depression in Nigeria, it is unarguable that art centres witnessed visits from milliards of people. Everybody wanted to look for a way to ease off, so, they turned to art for succour. Moreover, there are many existing parks and public gardens in town, therefore, the government should focus more on arts, and limit expenditure on the parks.

While increasing the budget on parks and public gardens might be a great idea, I strongly believe that reducing the expenditure on them would be more beneficial because the government would only concentrate on repairs and not spend heavily on the construction of more parks and gardens.

In a nutshell, the during an economic downturn, when faced with this crucial decision, the government should reduce the amount spent on parks and public gardens in order to create room for increased spending the more profiting scientific research and art.