TOEFL ESSAY: Many families have important traditions that family members share. What is one of your family's important traditions?

Ever since mankind started to have a family life and grow more social, it developed its acts through special traditions. These traditions are so diverse in different countries and cultures, that might sound and look weird to other countries. Traditions might include joy, happiness and even anxiety and fear within themselves. Since family traditions include cultural aspect inside them that usually only spread through family members, it would be interesting for families to keep them alive.

In my homeland Iran, with more than 2400 years of culture, many traditions exist. These traditions are mainly based on religious thoughts and historical events. One main traditional ceremony I can mention is the Norooz. Norooz is the new year ceremony in Iran which starts in the first month of the Persian calendar, Farvardin. In this traditional event, people go to the elders homes and celebrate the new near with the bigger family. They try to cook special meals and sweets for this events feast. A particular meal that is widely cooked for the beginning of the new years ceremony is a dish made of fish and rice. Different kinds of nuts are also served in this ceremony.

Furthermore, we have the religious traditions such as the birthdays of the Muslim's prophet Mohammad (Peace be upon him). In this special day people are happy and celebrate the great birth of the prophet for almost a weak. In a branch of Islam named Shia, there are also twelve other great religious leaders named Imams. The birthday of these Imams are also celebrated widely as a traditional event in Iran. Although some families are more religious and have their own special feasts and ceremonies, there are some other religions who do not celebrate this.

When everything is said and done, we have a lot of different traditional events in Iran. These traditions are majorly supported by the government and the families their own. So we can expect having these traditions being held for the next generations.