TOEFL ESSAY: Many people have learned a foreign language in their own country; others have learned a foreign language in the country in which it is spoken. Which is better?

There are many different types of teaching and learning methods for academic subjects. But when talking about language learning, specially learning a foreign language, the methods might be quite different. We have all learned our mother language not through books or artificial conditions, but being in the middle of a real condition where everybody's primary way to communicate is through speaking and listening that specific language. In my view, there might be some motivating programs in one country for learning another countries language, but learning a foreign language in the country which it is spoken is much more easier, longer lasting and effective.

When we learn a language through language books and institutes, we might be able to progress on the learning contents, but when we get back to our home or work place we simply shift back to our mother-tongue. That is a major problem for learning the language, because the learned lessons can be easily mixed up and even forgotten when getting back to the old conditions. For example, I experienced these shift backs in my roommates that were trying to focus on learning English at the language laboratory, when they came back to the dormitory and had to speak their mother language, Persian.

Furthermore, many people do not try hard for reaching their personal goals, however, if they are forced to do actions sometimes, that head their goals, they achieve them easily. The specific individual has not changed at all, but the condition that were as a force to him made him accomplish his tasks. For instance, when your only way to do a daily task is reached through speaking a foreign language, you are forced to learn it and that happens only when you are at the country which the language there is spoken. Examples will be buying some food or asking for an address for a location.

Last but not least, there are some educational content that can be learned only when being in the middle of the situation for that special content. Many riddles and famous sayings cannot be easily comprehended until a person goes to the origin of that saying. That also increases the effectiveness of learning. Slang word can also categorized to this part of the effective language learning process.

When everything is said and done, language is learned in the country where it is spoken much easier than in one's own country. The many examples and supporting details mentioned above, help us in understanding and accepting this view.