TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Sports and social activities are an important part of university and college life. They help to broaden the horizon of the students and to acquire skills related to everyday life. Some think that they are as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support while others oppose. In my view, sports and social activities should get equal funding for two important reasons.

First, sports and social activities help the students both physically and mentally. The students participating in outdoor sports suffers less from diseases and have better health. Also, students playing games and taking part in social activites have the opportunity to grow intellectually and emotionally. For example, when I was a university student I joined the soccer club of batch. My friends and I played soccer at the university playground. I enjoyed the experience very much as it helped me to stay fit and healthy. Also, during playing soccer match I learned more about teamwork, strategy and perseverence. Overall, the experience improved me both physically and mentally and provided the much needed refreshment to do better in the class. So, these activities are very important.

Second, these extracurricular activities help the students to learn skills which make them better prepared for their life after school. In our work life, soft skills like communication, negotiation, networking are very important. Sports and social activities help greatly to achieve these early in our life. For instance, I worked as a volunteer for arranging a conference during my sophomore year. The conference was on opportunities and challenges of renewable energy in Bangladesh. It was held in our university. I had the responsibility for planning the schedule for the presentations according to the topic and provide technical help to carry out the session without any problem. I, with my team, collected all the speakers presentation files, sorted them by the topic and scheduled four sessions. After that, we communicated the schedule to all the speakers. On the day of conference, our team provided support to the speakers all day long. This experience helped me to learn planning, communicating and networking well which became very handy in my current job as a Process Advisor.

As the sports and social activities are very important at universities and college, we should promote them along with classes and libraries. So, the country should provide equal financial support to these extracurricular activities as educational works.