TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being honest in our personal and professional life is an essential characteristic which contributes to having a long-lasting relationship. Some people believe that always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relations between individuals. Others, on the other hand, hold the opposite view and make the notion that being honest does not always result in our favourable desires and presumably brings about the end of relationship whether personal or professional. I personally am of the opinion that the latter carries more weight. There are some critical cases which we have to circumvent telling the truth and will be aruged in the following essay.

To start with, even now and then individuals have faced some unique and critical circumstances which telling the truth could hurt his or her close friend, parent or partner. If one's wife is detected having a tumour, presumably the physician first lets the husband to know about this serious disorder. Consequently, the physician would suggest that it is the husband's decision to tell his wife about this horrible news. Telling the truth in this case is not an effective and correct decision as probably brings about more stresses and pressure on the patient, discouraging her to start the treatment. If the physician tells her about the side-effects of the treatment, supposedly, she even might not try to do the treatment. On the other hand, hiding the reality about her illness and convincing her that she has detected by a virus which 1 in 10 people has been detected, does go along way towards her well-being. Showing the treatment outcome of number of patients who got the same disease also encourages her to undergo treatment operations. As this example has showed, sometimes telling white lies not only hinders breaking down of the relationship but also may save a life.

In addition, always telling the truth might cause some adverse effects in our relationships with our colleagues. Consider a case when two colleagues have spoken with each other about the corrupted management system which one of them was heard from other people. If one of these two staff goes to the manager and tells all the gossip about the corruption, the other staff would face pressing problems which might even cost him or her resigning of the post. Furthermore, when an employee speak with a senior colleague, he or she would be careful when talking about the technical problems associated with the senior colleague. This is a mindful and mature decision if always talk in a manner which shows compliments towards the senior colleague or manager. Telling the exact truth that they work is worthless or they do not have deep knowledge regarding some special project would have some detrimental impact on the job.

In conclusion, although being honest is a key characteristic which we should consider in our personal and professional relationships, it does not mean to stick to it always. There are some cases which it is recommended to circumvent the truth somehow to prevent the upcoming consequences which might end our relationships.