TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The majority of people who are in their early to mid-twenties think that in twenty years, people would use cars more than today. They support that without cars, people cannot live their lives. However, the notion does not reflect the stance that I hold and should be thought about in a different light. I believe that people would use fewer cars in use in twenty years. This is because today’s people in the world are concerned about the Earth’s environment and many technologies would be improved for the future.

First of all, people in today’s globalized world have seriously concerned about the Earth’s environment. To be specific, fewer cars will significantly reduce air pollution. This is directly correlated to the enhancement of our ecosystem, which is the foundation of our economies and societies. In fact, protecting the environment offers major opportunities for use to build a better future. For instance, a study done by the New York Times, it revealed that the increasing population of vehicle results in an environment where people could not survive without mask for air pollution. The study indicated that within ten years everyone could not breathe fresh air without portable air filter. This was because increasing vehicle population affect on contaminated air which as a result makes people to decrease their life span. Thus, it is legitimate to say that people would use fewer cars in use in twenty years in order to protect the environment.

Moreover, many technologies would be improved for the future instead of cars. As modern society is becoming increasingly dependent on technology, people in the world require companies to develop a lot of products in order to become convenient. For example, Google has experienced many researches regarding to driver-less car. From this company, many other companies also have tried to develop the car satisfying customer’s convenience. It will widespread throughout the world; thus, the car population also might be decreased by this technology. Consequently, today’s a number of cars will be decreased in twenty years by the improvement of technology.

To sum up, I believe that people would use fewer cars in use in twenty years because of two reasons : today’s people in the world are concerned about the Earth’s environment and many technologies would be improved for the future. All in all, the importance of my views cannot be underestimated in that it can kill two birds with the reasons I have mentioned. As a result, this trend will probably continue for the next generation.