TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

Nowadays, an increasing number of people focus on personal enjoyment, with an ignorance of things they should do. As for me, people should sometimes do things that they don’t enjoy doing. And things that aren’t "fun" are still beneficial for us in the long run.

From personal intends. Hardly anyone does enjoy having their annual check-up with the doctor, rarely anyone does enjoy changing the oil in their car, seldom anyone does enjoy mowing their lawns. However, these are all things we do because we have to, not because we want to. We realize that taking care of our physical health is the sensible thing to do. We know that if we don’t change the oil in our cars, our cars won’t run. We understand that grass grows and if we don’t mow it, our lawns will look like tropical forests.

Learning is another part deserves consideration. No students like to be stuck with a tedious homework or to be told we have to study with someone no one else gets along with. No students like to put up with unfair criticism from parents or resentment from those they custody with. No students like to take numerous tests and exams or obey the order doing homework after school. None of these are fun things. Unfortunately, they’re all part of acquiring knowledge, something the great majority of students have to do. On the other hand, sometimes doing something we don’t enjoy doing can lead to enjoyment.

Simply by trying it again, we may decide we like doing it. For instance, we may have convinced ourselves we hate to dance. We agree to go to a club only to please someone else. Yet, for some reason, this time we enjoy dancing. We’ve been cheating ourselves of enjoyment without even knowing it. The same can be true of trying new foods or going to a new type of museum.Doing what we should do even if we don’t enjoy doesn’t always have to be a bother.