TPO 06_ Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In seeking to find out whether our lives are easier than our grandparents' or not, we must initially define the term "easy life". If we define it as a life with less worries, apparently the lives of our predecessors must be considered as easier. However, defining the easy life in a more conventional way, that is a life in wich everyone can achieve what they desire in a less amount of time, I subscribe to the view that our lives are easier.

For one thing, the advancement of technology has eased our lives if different ways. For example, the advent of the internet has provided eager students with the opportunity of meeting famous scientists and attending online classes whenever the intend to. As a result, everyone can pursue a comprehensive education that they desire, with the least amount of money. For example, I currently watch Quantum optics course, which is not a part of my course schedule at university, on Coursera website, offered by Polytechnique university in Zurich.

Additionally, cultures undergo various changes in time. The marriage age, for instance, has changed from the time of my grandparents. At that time, girls were forced to get married when the were as old as 14 years old, and hence, never had the chance to fulfill their desires, for they had to concentrate on household tasks and taking care of their children. But now we can get married whenever we decided to. We can have plentiful time to go to university and study our favorite majors.

To sum up, I believe that, even though people used to have less worries before, they never had the opportunity to live the life the wished. So our lives are easier since we have less restrictions now, and consequently, can put more time and effort on the things that appeal to us.