TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The majority of people who are in their early to mid-twenties think that in the past that people’s grandparents were children, people’s life was easier and more comfortable than today. They support that today’s fast-paced world requires people with a number of knowledge. However, the notion does not reflect the stance that I hold and should not be thought about in a different light. I believe that people’s life today is easier and more comfortable because they are able to utilize today’s advanced technology and build international relationship.

First of all, today’s advanced technology enables people to get a lot of information. To be specific, they are able to experience a number of things would not be in the past, which as a results better understand other cultures, lifestyle. As modern society is becoming increasing, today’s globalized world provides people to enjoy a better quality of life. People can do this better by various technologies. For example, our family has six members with my grandparents. Sometimes my grandmother advice me to experience a lot of things what today’s world provides us such as the Internet. When she was a child, she wanted to be professor. For this, a wide range of knowledge is required to obtain. However, at that time, the information what she wanted was rare to obtain from libraries. This is because in order to enter libraries, she had to pay substantial pay to them. Today people are easy to get a lot of information from the Internet. Thus, I learned that people’s life today is easier and more comfortable because they are able to take advantage of advanced technology.

Moreover, today’s life is easy to build international relationship with others. In addition, globalized world create opportunities to meet with people all around world without connection, which as a result allows people to learn how to build relationship through communicating their thoughts and connecting with other’s feelings. Building relationships not only is a great way to develop the increasingly important social, interpersonal, communication skills but also provides the basis for a strong network necessary in leading a successful life. To illustrate, a study done by the New York Times, it revealed that people today are more likely to feel happy and more comfortable than in the past. The study indicated that 80 percent of 200 Korean people over 70 years old agree with this research. This was because in the past it was difficult to do international business with all over the world and their scope was limited within their country. It was obvious that they lost their opportunities to expand their business and collect benefit. However, people today are easier to connect with people who live different countries and make a business with them. Thus, it is legitimate to say that today’s life is easier and more comfortable because people nowadays are able to broaden their perspectives.

To sum up, I believe that people’s life in the past was not easier and more comfortable than nowadays because they could not utilize today’s advanced technology and broaden their perspectives. Consequently, the importance of my views cannot be underestimated in that it can kill two birds with one stone for the reasons I have mentioned above.