TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the opinion that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Knowledge is power. However, no one can learn all the knowledge of the world. It is even impossible for a person to learn all the facts and knowledge of an specific area. Therefore, it is more important for students to learn ideas and concepts. There are several specific reasons.

First of all, if students have learned the ideas and concepts of a subjects, they can learn some facts by themselves and they even can find some facts that no one has found before. Nowadays there are much more information for us to deal with. If we want to learn all the facts rather than the ideas and concepts, we will face big problems since this task is impossible to finish. For example, we want to learn the mathematics. There are a lot of facts, such as 5 adds 3 is 8, 3 times 8 is 24 and so on. If a teacher teaches his/her students by requiring the students remember all these facts, the teacher may certainly be failed. Instead, she/he should tell the students how to calculate. That is, the teacher should tell the students the concepts and ideas of calculate. Only in this way, the students can learn the calculate easily and quickly.

Second, the ideas and concepts are much fewer than facts and it is possible for the students to learn many ideas and concepts. Consider the example cited before. It has only a few ideas of the calculate. We need only to know 1 adds 1 is 2, 2 adds 1 is 3 and some other basic ideas of calculate. Then we can make the calculation of any two numbers. Compared with the amounts of facts, the work a student needs to do is much less if he/she are required to learn ideas.

Finally, if a student does not know the ideas and concepts of an subjects, the student may find it is difficult to learn the facts of this subjects. Consider again that example above. If a student does not know the laws of calculation, he/she may not be able to calculate two numbers I give him/her. The fact that he/she dose not know the laws of calculation is because he/she only remember some facts of calculation but dose not know the ideas of calculation.

Therefore we can see the importance of the ideas and concepts of a subjects. And it is important for a student to learn them.

To sum up, it is more important to learn ideas and concepts since learning the ideas and concepts has many benefits for the students. Therefore I agree with the opinion.