TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Perhaps, few subject in human society is as controversial as the impacts of the advertisement upon its audiences. It has been argued that since most advertisements have a negative influence on the different walk of life's attitude especially on young-age children, advertising should be restricted to them. While I believe it can not be generalized to all cases, I tend to agree with such a view based on the following concerns.

The first point to mention is that advertisements ' producers have always provided an exaggerated account for their products. In fact, for touting passive consumers, they have focused on those attributes which are appealing for most children while playing down others. Although in some snacks commercial, for example, alluring environment accompanied with flamboyant and colorful appearance has made kids to purchase this snacks regardless how its malfunction nutrition pose a threaten their health. In this sense, even if the advertisers have announced the possible consequence of using this product, these early aged kids may not comprehend the negative points due to lack of their literacy skills.

Another main strategy adopted by advertisers is to change children concepts about their basic appetite and preference. Due to this fact that they are not able to distinguish by which means they can meet their needs, advertising products are regarded as a reliable commodity. In addition, when children have seen that other peers' pursue advertisements for obtaining their necessities, they unconsciously tend to possess these products. However, it should be noted that not all the parents can afford these expensive products. Hence, these little kids who are less concern with price follow and admire some, if not all, fashionable commodities.

On the other side, it is clearly perceived that children become more knowledgeable when the time flies. In this regard, advertising can be known as a source of information for them. As a matter of fact, some non-profit campaign such as Anti-smoking or having healthy diet has played significant role in boosting children; knowledge about their environments. Nonetheless, most kids may not clearly understand the essence of these measures.

To recapitulate, different aspects of advertisements impacts on little kids have been considered. As it was stated, not only do they mislead by concepts of products but also they get used to being extravagant by following luxury and unnecessary commodities. Conversely, some beneficial advertisements can boost their environmental knowledge.