TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The majority of people who are in their early to mid-twenties think that children’s playing computer games should not be allowed because it is a waste of time. They support that when children are playing the games, there is nothing to learn from the games. However, the notion does not reflect the stance that I hold and should not be thought about in a different light. I believe that children’s playing games should be allowed in order to relieve their stress and make their lives more effective and convenient.

First of all, children’s playing computer games enables them to relieve their accumulated stress. To be specific, children should be allowed to play computer games, which makes better manage stress, maintain health, and build a quality life. Stress is the main cause of disease, shorter life span, and dissatisfying life in general. As such, people in modern society should actively find ways to reduce stress levels and stay healthy. For example, when I was in elementary school, teachers gave me a lot of home-works in order to improve my abilities. It was helpful for me to improve my abilities. However, it makes me stressful when I was doing home-works. At that time, there was one way to reduce my stress. It was to play a computer game, called “worms”. I could relieve my stress while playing this game. Through this experience, I learned that children’s playing computer games is not a waste of their time and they should be allowed to play the games in order to relieve stress and stay healthy.

Moreover, playing computer games is not a waste of time because it makes children’s lives more effective and convenient. In addition, children’s playing the games allows them to learn how to effectively utilize their limited time. In today’s fast-paced world, people are required to take use of their time and build relationships with others. People can do this better by playing computer games online. For instance, according to a study done by the New York Times, it revealed that playing computer games is beneficial for children to utilize their time and be more effective and convenient. The study indicated that during playing computer games, children are able to meet a lot of players in the game and build relationships with them in short time. Also, as they participated in the same group, they are likely to indirectly experience each other’s valuable information which could use in the real world. Children who are playing the games makes their lives more effective and convenient.

To sum up, I believe that children’s playing games should be allowed and not a waste of time : relieving stress and making their lives more effective and convenient. All things I have mentioned, it is my belief that my argument regarding this topic has been effectively and precisely delivered with the reasons.