TPO-11 - Independent Writing Task Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?Use specific reasons and examples to support you

Everyone has their own view point about the latest technology that has changed the entire way working of people all over the world. But is it justified to have such a technology that gives unrestricted liberty to people to access anything or is it incorrect to provide such an intricate tool in the hand of public including children? Well, some people think that it is a great thing for everyone as helps in doing work. However, I do not concur with this notion because of the following reasons and justifications.

First, it is not at all healthy for the young generation of today’s modern world. Now, to elaborate this I would like to draw your attention towards the drawbacks of this technology. As we all know that life of a student is very tough nowadays as there is cut throat competition everywhere. If a student wants to get success then she/he has to work hard and prove himself/herself. In order to do so, there is no time to waste but due to the internet there are various things that are capable of distracting one’s focus from studies to chatting on social networking site or to play games and watch movies online and many more. The list is endless; I can give an example of my own fifteen year old son who was highly addicted to chatting on social networking sites. As a result of which he failed in his tenth standard. This made me realized that how lethal the side effects of internet could be.

Second, not to mention that the interaction among people have reduced because of internet. In olden times, people used to meet their friends and family in free time. This was very helpful as it used to relieve stress and made people happy. This also allowed people to develop strong bonding not only with their relatives and friends but also with their neighbors and so they never felt lonely and always used to get help in emergency. On the other hand, people now prefer to spend their free time by chatting with a online friend who they don’t even know properly and who is probably miles away from them and cannot help them if they need but do not like to mingle with their neighbor who can always help them, if they have good relationship with them. I can recall, one’s I was out of town and my son met with an accident. MY wife was alone at home and did not have anyone , so she asked help from our neighbors and because we never interacted with them, they were reluctant initially to help but after requesting they helped my wife a lot. This taught me a lesson that how important it is have good relationship with one’s neighbors than to have hundreds of friends online.

To recapitulate, I would like to say that I am not denying the benefits of internet, of course, it is great thing to learn especially for children as they can learn new skills through it but it is extremely important to see that it is not being misused by them. Also, it not good to completely depend on it for everything as we all are social animals