TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having the knowledge is a popular topic in our society. There is an idiom in our culture which states that "one who have knowledge, he has the power". People depending on their personal experience and personality type, differ greatly in their attitudes towards this issue. We find some people who holds the idea that we must have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects, others disagree with this notion. I am of the opinion that specializing in one specific subject is more appropriate. There are countless factors to supports this opinion, two of those are discussed below.

First, it can support us to became more professional in our field of study. It is obvious that today science and knowledge are differ greatly from what it be in the past. Science expanded broadly and we can hardly find some person who has a proper and deep knowledge in several subjects. It is clear that if we can focus on one subject and try to study and find more knowledge in this area, it is expected and is more accessible that we can became a professional person in this field of study.

Second, it can bother some people and leads to wasting the time. It is a common issue that we can hardly find people who like many academic subjects. For instance, some years ago, when I was a high school student, I had a friend who want to became a civil engineer and he has not any interest to learn about chemistry. But he should learn, study and pass its test and he always bother by this problem and finally he can't get a good score in this course and it make a negative effect on his future studying. This experience taught me that having broad knowledge of many academic subject can be so harmful for some people.

In sum, although some people agree with this idea that having knowledge in many academic subjects is useful, I am of the opinion that specializing in one subject is better. Because it helps us to became more specialist in one subject area and supports us to learn what we like.