TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans are social creature who can no live alone. The big family had always been an essential part of people's lives in old times. I agree that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past. I will explore the reasons for my stance in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, people now are more busy and have many commitments than in the past. Every person in this complex and rapidly changing world has many duties to do besides his work. The supporting and fulfilling the needs of our small families became much difficult than it was in the past because of the high competitive modern world. For example, one can study besides his work at night to enhance his knowledge in his or her work area, in order to be able to get a promotion, higher position, or even new better career. Moreover, parents spend a lot of time in following and monitoring their children study and their overall educational progress. Not to mention, the normal daily basic chores and routine work. With all this burden of duties, it is likely not be able to communicate and socialized with your extended family, because you may not have enough time to meet all these requirements.

What is more, the communication methods have developed dramatically, which enables people to easily contact their relatives through phones or social media and the like. Why would you go to visit a family relative where you can call him or her for two minutes?, you will save a lot of time and energy and maybe focus on more practical things in your life. The virtual world is engulfing our life and giving no chance to behave and interact in person as our grandparents did long time ago. We tend to choose the most comfortable solution. For instance, in old times if a friend is ill, I should pay him a visit, but in these days, people are likely to just give him or her a phone call or send them a some flowers. Generally speaking, more people prone to be less sociable than our ancestors were in the past.

In conclusion, I contends that extended family is less important now than it was in the past due the fact that people now have more commitments, busy schedules, moreover, the modern communications ways made us less sociable.