TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays there are a countless number of newspapers, websites, and other media as the information source. The increasing number shows the importance of free flow of information in today’s world. Some people agree that using different sources is essential to be well-informed, others disagree. I agree that several different sources are needed to be sure about the authenticity of news and having a comprehensive view.

First, different news sources cover information related to the news from variable angles. So if one person wants to be informed in a comprehensive way, should use some different media. For example, I read some newspaper and websites when I want to be comprehensively informed. Five months ago, in the news regarding firing a school in one small town, every source investigated the incident from its own view. One of them reported that the school officials were culpable of this disaster because they did not provide standard heaters for schools. But another website accused the education minister as the main culprit of this burning because of not providing the school with enough budget. Or another media’s culprit was the company making the hitters and etc… Hence I could investigate different reasons of this incident and my information was more comprehensive rather than if I wanted to read the news just from one or two sources.

Furthermore, the better able a person is to obtain information from different sources, the easier someone can determine this information is genuine or not. Some people may refuse my first point by indicating that too many sources make people get confused by a plenty of information; however, they do not take a critical aspect into consideration—that fake information is not amenable. The earthquake happened in Japan last month can function as a good example to illustrate this point. My sister texted every member of her family, friend, and classmate when the earthquake broke out, saying that 2012 was approaching and there would a huge earthquake broke out in Taiwan after 1 hour. This information was not true at all. The story could have been very different if she had discovered conflicting news from other media. Maybe after watching the same news from CNN, BBC, or NHK, she can immediately identify this was a fake news, which just wanted to let people panic. Hence, it was the limited information sources that made her do something unwise.

Nevertheless, there is no perfect thing in the world. There are some disadvantages in getting information from many different news sources, such as taking time. Even in some specific occasions, it seems hard to obtain any news. Yet, things have changed this few years. With the maturity of WI-FI, we can almost get online everywhere and every time, so it is not to worry about missing any latest news anymore.

To conclude, people should acquire information from many sources as more as possible. For one thing, they can offset different stances of news sources, and for the other, they can avoid getting biased information.