TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In general, people think that it is important for successful people to do what they know how to well. They support that without deeply doing what they know, people would not achieve anything they have. However, the notion does not reflect the stance that I hold and should be thought about in a different light. I believe that challenging new areas allows people to succeed because today’s projects require people with various knowledge of where people did not know and it also makes people be innovative.

First of all, as modern society is becoming dependent on diverse technologies, companies in the world necessitate a great deal of novel thinking as well as employees who have ability to learn new skills. This trend last for a long time from the appearance of the Internet, which change people in modern societies. Customers could not be satisfied with this trend. In business, companies require to apply a lot of technologies into their products in order to fulfilling customers. Without the fact, companies could not survive in today’s competitive world. For instance, Sony, which was one of huge electronic company in Japan, had kept their opinion that MP3 could not replace tape recorder, even the trend was changing. Most of other companies have tried to manufacture MP3 player with various technologies. Eventually, Sony was damaged in financial crisis and other companies would be success in the market. Thus, it is legitimate to say that challenging to new areas allows people to success in their life.

Moreover, the globalized world requires innovative people in order to succeed. To be specific, even applying new ideas is risky activities for people, it provides opportunities for people to upgrade themselves. In modern society, people are focus on what they have and what they have learned, when they consider something. However, it is old-fashioned thinking because they are capable to broaden their perspectives and thinking spectrums, which as a result allow them to upgrade their lives. For instance, Steve Jobs, who is the founder of Apple, made great accomplishments in his lifetime. I read online that he was successful because he was innovative and kept thinking about how to apply new technologies. Also, he thought that not trying to learn novelty is as the same as the death. As a result, this shows that challenging new is the best way for people to be successful person.

To sum up, I believe that for success, it is important for people to challenge objects and take risks because various technologies are required, and it makes them more innovative. Consequently, the importance of my views cannot be underestimated in that it can kill two birds with one stone for the reasons I have mentioned above. All in all, this trend will probably continue for the next generations.