TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

If you ask parents about what they hope their children can achieve, the answer is likely about success. Not only has it become the main topic of self-help sections in any bookstores, but it also has been the main topic for research by psychologists of our era. How do we determine our success in a future job? Some people think that the ability to relate to other people is the answer, while some others differ by stating the obvious: studying hard in school. Success may mean many things, but here let us focus on financial success. I believe that success is obtained by the ability to relate to other people.

First, we can achieve success at work by being a good communicator. For example, I know a friend who used to research about crime reduction in Indonesia. Being a student and researcher, he may have fallen behind his peers. However, there is one thing he can do while the others lack: communication skills. He went for meetings instead of his peers and he presented his peers’ work. When conflicts arose, he was the one to mediate the disputes. While the others may have been better researchers, he was appointed the team leader. As human beings, we are hard-wired to like and despise certain characteristics. Hence, conflicts always exist in professional world. That’s why being able to relate to people help in our professional journey, so that it will lead to success.

Next, if we want to make the world a better place, we need to solve more social problems. Being able to relate to people means being able to be empathetic. Human empathy helps us identify social problems. As a result, we may be able to solve problems when we can identify them in the first place. It is difficult to make the world a better place when we don’t help the humans inside it. For instance, Facebook becomes successful because Mark Zuckerberg knows how helpful human connection is. Larry Page understands how humans can work efficiently with more symmetry in information.

However, I also understand that being able to relate to others is not enough. It certainly depends on what field you are trying to tackle. Isaac Newton, for instance, spent most of his time alone researching. It was effective for him as his research did not need to involve relationship with humans even though the benefit to humanity is beyond what he intended to do.

In summary, I think that reaching success is mostly a matter of being able to relate to other people because we can never get out of our social environment at work and we are expected to solve social problems inside the world.