TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

There is a dawning awareness that adapting to the adult life is a challenging task for most teenagers, so parents try their best to help their teenage children to be better prepared for their adulthood in many ways. In my point of view, taking a part-time job is undoubtedly one of the most useful ways for teenagers to prepare for adult lives.

To begin with, taking a part-time job helps a teenager to improve his or her future social relationships that play an important role in both working and entertaining. With a part-time job, a teenager will have the opportunity to meet different people, hence having better interpersonal skills. It is these skills that contribute to one’s advantages when looking for a job, organizing his or her social network, and even work when one dealing with some possible unexpected conflicts with colleagues and friends—he or she probably just suppress the anger in order to prevent the conditions to be worsened. In other words, one with these social skills is better able to keep calm and sophisticated in adult world.

In addition to better social relationships, teenagers also learn how to manage their money in that they always plan the uses of their own earnings from part-time jobs by themselves. When allocating their own wages they are able to have a clearer understanding of money, and therefore spend their money in a wiser way than other teenagers do. For instance, my cousin saved her earnings from her part-time job for several years and eventually invested her savings in the stock market. She successfully earned an extra 30% as the payback of the investment. After she totally independent from her family, she already had enough experience to manage her salaries, and never let herself trapped into shortage of money because of unreasonable consumption. Had she not taken her part-time jobs, not owned her own money, she could not have organized her spending and saving so successfully, which helped her a lot in adapting to her adult life, as she worries little about financial problems.

In a nutshell, taking a part-time job aids teenagers in their preparation to welcome their adulthood, for it brings improvements in both interpersonal skills and managing their own money. Therefore, parents should encourage their teenagers to take a part-time job, as it is one of the best ways for them to prepare for their adult lives.