TPO 26:Agree/Disagree:It's better for children choose jobs that are similar to their parent' jobs than to choose job that are very different from their parents' jobs.

Some proponents might claim that young people who undertake same job as their parents can gain a number of advantages including abundant related resources, free career consultation. However, in my personal view, its demerits outweigh its merits a lot due to the following justifications.

Firstly, one cannot deny that children’s interests probably are not identical with their parents’ interests. This circumstance is very common during this age. Different from their parents who live in a time that are with limited both material and spiritual resources, nowadays children, especially those from relatively wealthy family, have a myriad of opportunities to experience sorts of things, such as learning abroad, traveling a lot at young age. It is reasonable to say that those amount of experience and sorts of values they learned from other people cast significant influence on themselves, which might result in a different outlook from their parents. Different outlook leads to different career choice. Therefore, it does not make sense that parents force their children to choose the same cause as theirs.

Also, some parents’ jobs are not promising or suitable at all for their children. This happens commonly to elder generations. Due to the upset fact that they did not have any access to get educated because of poor financial condition, a large amount of elder people have to make a life at young age as factory workers, farmers. Lack of education, their career seldomly become promising or influent. So I seriously doubt that youngster who are ambitiou would like to choose such types of job as their career. For example, a couple might choose to work as a menial factory workers, because of their disadvantaged education. When they raise a child, they certainly do not want their child repeat their low demanding career path. In this regard, it is plain to see that there is no good at all for young people choose similar careers to their parents’ jobs if their jobs are menial and provide modest salary.

Admiitedly, there are some adavantages of choosing same jobs, of which the most prominent one I presume is that parents as seasoned veterans in the specific field can provide substantial consultation and valuable information that is hard to obtain to outsiders. It can ideed help them avoid inconspicuous pitfalls and save unnecessary efforts, even providing an effective shorcut to the success. Nevertheless, with the proliferation of Internet and other sophisticated technology, infomation gaps beome narrower than it was in the past, making competely possible to obtain valid intelligence and consultation related to certain field. Hence, the advantage over information of choosing similar job seem to lose its competitive edge.

In a nutshell, selecting similar jobs is not optimal due to the justificaitons I mentioned above. When it comes to career selection, what we should give the priority to is what we are good at and have enthusiasm towards.