TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents have always been concerned about their children’s education and in order to provide help, they get involved too. But is it true that parents are more involved today as compared to the past or is it just a myth? Some people think that it is incorrect that parents are more involved now as they believe that they have always been anxious about children’s future. However, I strongly believe that it s true that parents are more involved in today’s world.

To begin with, when there is more competition, there is more insecurity and this makes a parent overprotective for their kids. In today’s modern world, it is quite intricate to survive as it was in the past. Now, people have to have excellent in their respective fields and prove themselves as best. Otherwise, there is less scope for them to get a good job. On the other hand, in earlier days, situation was not this troublesome for example my grandfather was not highly educated indeed he was a farmer. He used to live in a village with limited facilities but he lived a good life as at that time everything was inexpensive. But now it is difficult to live a simple life as everything is expensive.

In addition, earlier parents were not educated themselves and so they never insisted children much to study. In modern world, most of the parents are highly qualified and they know the significance of education unlike parents in the past who were not aware of the consequences of not being educated as they had many options which did not require much studying. I can recall my grandfather always used to tell me to relax and not study all the time unlike my dad. He even used to tell me many options to live a decent life in village without having higher degree. Although, he wanted me to study but never pushed me into it like my father. There was certainly a lot of generation gap that I observed that affected their thoughts.

To recapitulate, although there are many who believe that importance of education has always been same. I disagree; I think that because of cut throat competition, people now certainly are more aware about the benefits of educating their children than before. I can say this firmly that now parents are also educated and so they want their children to do even better. Earlier, people were not so educated and so they never used to bother that much about their children’s education.