TPO-30 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use spec

Perhaps, working hours is set to play a critical role in everyone's life more than ever before. In fact, the importance of extended hours for working has made people harbor different perception toward this issue. The discussion has centered on whether to have long hours job each day with a long holiday or working five days a week with shorter hours. While I believe it can not be generalized in all cases, I tend to agree with the latter view based on the following concerns.

The first point should be noted for evaluating a career is its health environment. Not surprisingly, working long hours might have significant consequences on employees' health. In fact, those job holders who work for long hours might not able to set a happy balance between their career and the family commitment. Hence, they are more susceptible to get serious psychological problem or disorder in sleep intake. Another factor which makes matter worse is that workers might pose on occupational injuries when they feel exhausted and meanwhile, the risk for blunder will be boosted in these cases.

Moreover, longer working periods directly can impact on the job's productivity. Although at first glance it seems beneficial for employers to exploit maximum benefits from the limited resource, being involved in compulsory performance might bring fatigue. In this regard, feel of burnout or completely exhausted impair one's efficiency. Not surprisingly, not only can it enhance the high rate of turnover but also absenteeism might become a common trend after people experience extended hours for their employment. Therefore, the employers should allocate a larger portion of organization's asset and time to train new workers.

On the other side, it has been argued that working in three succession days can provide redeeming features such as flexible leisure time or more opportunity to have long distance trips. It should be noted that this longer interval between working and vacations might cause job holders to get away for their routine assignments and in an overall view, it causes low job satisfaction as their first priority is their leisure activities, not their responsibilities.

From what have been discussed, having the job in five days can benefit its holder in different aspects. As it was mentioned, not only does it make work more moderately with less tension but also it helps an organization to run efficiently. In fact, extended amount of time off is known as a distraction factor which impairs quality of any jobs.