TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the pastUse specific reasons and examples to

When it comes to the ability to determine decisions which impacts our society, many people believe that young people are not mature enough to make critical decisions. However, people are born with basic rights to express their ideas and to vote.

Young people do have the right to vote for national and local leaders. In my country, it is true that this right is only for people who are legally 20 years old rather than literally for every young people. Therefore, people over 20 are supposed to have the ability to think what is beneficial to their country, or our legislative yuan will limit this right to people who are older than 20, such as 25 or so. Hence, our country believes, or expects, the young, who are over 20, in their decision making ability. In my country, citizens over 20 are eligible for voting for presidents and for city mayors. In addition, the voting rates of young people is up to 90%. In contrast, the voting rate of people over 40 is not even 50%. As a result, the young are actually decide the vital decisions that determine our country's future.

Moreover, young people also have the right to express their ideas. In fact, it is the elemental rights to every human being, regardless of age, gender, intelligence or social statues. In my country, sometimes the young oppose for biased legislation, unhealthy products, or for materials that cause serious harm to our environments through campaigns or boycotts. Earlier this year, almost every student went to streets since they have been eating food products of a huge but immoral company. They claimed that their products are all made from "natural" ingredients; however, it found out to be a huge lie. Those foods are made up of artificial ingredients, which not only pose threats to human health but also harm the environment. Some people even stop buying their products. Thus, the young can express their thoughts.

Consequently, young people nowadays do have influence on decisions that determine the future of our society through the fundamental rights to vote and to boycott through actions.