TPO 33:Agree/Disagree:When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, students will learn much more effectively than ask them to do alone.

Every one have their own preferred way to study and work on assigned projects, and each have their own weaknesses and strength. I disagree with teachers assigning projects on which students must work together, rather than working individually. Someone can consciously weigh the pros and cons of each side. The reasons will be explored in the following essay.

To begin with, assigning projects in group work lead to some students taking advantage of others, and this is absolutely unfair. A lazy student depends on his partner to do most of the duties. A reckless and irresponsible behavior would be shown. This act is very annoying to an excellent student who is aiming to achieve a maximum score. A group project in a biology class is a perfect example to illustrate this. One student should be responsible for collecting the material needed, another student will prepare for the research, and another one is responsible to proofread. However, if one of the students was with a lower IQ or decides that he is not going to finalize perfectly his part, then the overall mark would be dramatically affected. All the students here are taken down deeply to drown in the deep ocean of failure.

Furthermore, sometimes group assignments are a waste of time. Usually group members are close buddies in their daily life, and they hang out together after school. So, the time that is meant to be to complete their duties would be wasted talking on random personal issues. When things get personal it might ruin the professionalism in the results. Students working on the same biology project mentioned above are expected to spend more time talking than doing an advantageous job. This causes an unprofessional project, that is if their were even able to finish before the due time to submit their work.

Finally, group assignments lack the touch of perfection in the presentation of the project. The last most important step in a successful project is the way it is presented for everyone. Each student have his own perspective and way of analyzing what he is supposed to do. Thus, every student see the project from his angle. Different personalities is equal to a lost and complicated goal to reach, that not all of them are able to be fully satisfied with it. If the group members are not confident about their work, then how would they be able to convince their teacher and colleagues and get the score that each one of them truly deserves. All what they worked for would result in an unpersuasive assignment.

As a conclusion, group assignments are not the preferred way to me to raise and shine in my project. I definitely prefer to individualize my work with my own personality. My project would be signed with the uniqueness of my point of view. That's how I become the better person that I aim to be with a bright future.