TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at today's parents way of rewarding their children on studying brings to light a question that has several times provoked debate, namely, whether it is advisable for parents to offer school-age children money for high grades. Some might contend that by doing so the students can be motivated to study harder and make progress continually. However, I would like to assert that parents are not supposed to provide financial awards for children's study.

First and foremost, getting money from good grades distorts the real goal of study. Needless to say, children go to school to satisfy the instinctive curiosity of understanding the world, and to be equipped with essential knowledge for getting a job when they grow up. But if parents use money to reward children for their success in study, it is likely to leave the impression on children that they study hard so that they can use the money to buy things they want. Were they had formed this thought, it would be difficult for them to figure out the aim of learning and easily lose the enthusiasm for pursuing knowledge as soon as the financial reward stops.

Secondly, the method of financially rewarding children for good results in exams can backfire. It is undeniable that students need to learn every subject as equally hard as possible, regardless of how they had performed in the previous tests, for they are faced with new knowledge from time to time. As one can imagine, if the students study only to get money from their parents, they will naturally spend more time and energy on those subjects that they can make progress relatively easily, and ignore those that they already done well or do not seem to have the ability to do better. This can eventually lead to unbalanced development of the student.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by those who argue that offering school-age children money for high marks is reasonable. For example, children can learn that it is only their own diligent work that brings about fortune to them, which can be a valuable notion when they commence their careers. Nonetheless, I still affirm that students can also pick up this idea through a part-time job. By doing so, not only can they have a meaningful experience in their student days, but they can also get paid and harvest a sense of achievement and satisfactory. Hence, it is definitely unnecessary for parents to offer money for their children as an award for their hard work in study.

Due to the aforementioned ground, parents should always bear in mind that it is unwise to offer their children money for high grades they receive at school, and the real purpose of getting knowledge and balanced development of the student are two prime and conspicuous reasons.