TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to allowance, people in general believe that parents should give their children sufficient allowance so that their children will concentrate on studying rather than being distracted by taking parttime jobs. On the other hand, quite a few people think that working parttime jobs teach their children the value of money. However, parents award their children for each high grade by offering them money is a feasible way for children to earn more allowance.

Allowance can be served as a motivation of studying. Children spend money on commute, eating, fashion clothes or new technology in order to fit in with their friends or to make new friends. It is possible that allowance will used up soon, yet their parents disagree with children working parttime. Therefore, if they want their children to focus on their schoolwork without being occupied by parttime jobs, they could give their children more money for awarding their excellent performance. As a child, my parents use this method as incentive to motivate my desire for studying. Whenever I get an A, my mom gives me a hundred dollar for extra allowance. In order to earn more money, I made great efforts every day throughout my high school. In the end, offering extra money for every great performance helped me enter to my dream university.

However, parents should also give money to their children for making huge progress. With sibling pressures, one may quit attempting to be diligent for more allowance. My sister always lives under my pressure since she is not good at learning. Thus, she had never been given extra money for great performance in school even though how hard she tried. I always suggested my parents to give my sister more allowance for awarding her making huge progress even if she did not have high grades in her tests. Nevertheless, she is adept at all kinds of sports activities. I also convinced my parents for awarding her outstanding sports performance because studying is not the only way for success. They finally became enlighten and agreed that everyone has strengths and things not good with; as a result, they gave her extra allowance for making progress on learning or winning sports competition.

Consequently, parents should offer their school-age children money for each great grade they get in school for awarding. It is also beneficial to their children since it serves as a motivation for learning.