TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether teachers where more appreciated and valued in the past than they nowadays is controversial question. Some think that teachers today are more competitive than before. They argue that modern teachers have advanced skills and knowledge, However, in my opinion, I think that they are more respected in the past.

First, students are much relying on the internet to get information and to acquire knowledge than they used to be and therefore they are not valuating teachers. Internet has provided easy access to whatever information students need in a convenient way. Hence, students will not wait till they get to classrooms to ask teachers about clarification for their concerns. Instead they will go directly and search for that explanation on the internet, and in second they can get a bunch of articles related to that topic. For example, in the past, in order for college students to find a solution for a complicated mathematical function, they had wait until they get to the class to seek the answer. In contrast, they can find a detailed response for that function on the internet and from more than reliable resource. Therefore students do not give that importance to teachers as they did before.

Second, there were a few teachers in the past. Most people were workers and farmers; and only a few talented students could pass the exam and become professors. However, now there are plenty of teachers and professors with different academic levels and capabilities. This simply explains why teachers used to be more valued than they today. For example, when professors entered the classroom, students had to stand up and show respect. Nowadays, students do not care much about their instructors. A small number of students are appreciating their teachers. Therefore instructors are less respected and appreciated than they used to be.

In conclusion, teachers are valued a lot in the past as they were indispensable and less available.