TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

When it comes to correcting other people's mistakes, people in general only correct them within their minds instead of telling their ideas to them. Relatively few people correct them immediately by interrupting. As for me, the best and appropriate way is to wait until they are available to listen to my opinions.

Clearly, it is rude to interrupt while people are delivering a speech, or during a meeting.

Certainly, audience may harbor considerable questions in their minds during meetings or classes. Although teachers are always willing to discuss with their students, it is still not polite to discontinue class. The timing of discussing with professor is crucial. As a result, a feasible approach is to discuss in the Q&A sections, or after the class or meeting. My English professor is a great example for this criteria. She was a new professor in our department, which means she had quite few teaching experiences. My classmate, Judy, is a hardworking student who always preview before attending every class, and she always ask a bunch of questions during every class. Some of her questions are critical whereas some are shallow. Professor's teaching schedule was delayed significantly due to those questions, and it does have harmful impacts to other students. Professor taught our class much less compared to her other class. Even though we could study on our own, the professor’s teaching style helped us learn English more efficiently. Therefore, it is somehow unequal for other students.

Moreover, it is proper to prepare before asking a question. Whenever I conceive a question related to class or meeting which I attend to, I always write down those questions. Then after the class or meeting, I re-think my question and do some research for related materials in order to figure out possible explanations on my own, or to verify my doubts. This is meaningful to me before asking the teacher or the meeting leader since there is a great chance that I misunderstand their meaning, or I had incorrect or insufficient knowledge. After all, teachers and meeting leaders are much more familiar with the topic they are discussed. Thus, I will organize my doubts and acquire background knowledge before discussion for improving the quality of discussion.

Accordingly, I prefer to waiting until the class or meeting is over and the teacher or the meeting leader is finally free for discussing about their controversial opinions, rather than correct the mistake right away through interruption, or say nothing about their incorrectness.