TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

Trying to reach out or expressing yourself in a classroom or a meeting is a great method to influence people there which can lead you to better opportunities in the future. However, sometimes the person who is in charge of the meeting or classroom might say something wrong in front of all people there to you. Germane to this fact, a question which is matter of debate, a controversial one, is how you should react to this event. Although it may not be accepted by all, I am, personally, on the conviction that you better wait until the classroom or the meeting ends and then talk with that person while other audience are gone.

One compelling reason deserving to be mentioned is that when you wait to talk about someone's mistake privately, you seem more polite and educated. Psychologically speaking, people do not like to be corrected in front of others and consider this act as an insult. Consequently, when you avoid correcting other people, especially a teacher or a leader of meeting, and instead wait until the end of the session, they will have a positive opinion about you. Furthermore, they might even appreciate you for this and for showing them where they had a mistake, because they will not repeat this mistake in group of people again.

Another reason substantiating my stance which is equally important, if not more, is that when you correct people after privately, it can save you from the powerful people hurting you. Generally speaking, the people who lead an office or an organization does not like their authority to be questioned. To delineate, opposing a teacher or a leader of a meeting can actually have a bad effect in mind of the people presents there. Therefore, the person in charge not only will criticize you for no apparent reason, but also they might fire you or give you less marks in the case of the teachers. As a result, if you wait to correct them after the meeting will not challenge their power and they will not act like this. A vivid example can shed more light on the issue. When I was in highschool, I corrected my math teacher right in front of other students in the class. Although he accept that I was right, but afterward he never treated me well and he gave me a very low score in the final exam, even though i knew i could gave got a better grade easily.

To recapitulate, it is harmful to point out other person's mistakes right away, especially when they have power of hurting you and the based on the reasons and personal experiences stated above, you can get the best behavior of the teachers or leaders when you tell they are wrong in private. Although it might not be agreed by all, I ,strongly, recommend those ones who read this passage to correct other people in charge or their superiors when they are alone with each other, not in public.