TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

When it comes to the activities that children are able to do in their leisure time, parents in general believe that it is mandatory for children to study in their leisure time. On the other hand, few parents do not control what children are supposed to do in personal time. However, children should have fun playing or sporting with their friends.

Admittedly, in my country, almost all parents expected their children to have successful career in the future through studying hard day after day. Therefore, they motivate children to be diligent via various methods, such as offering extra allowance for every excellent grade they get in school, or regulating their time management by limiting the amount of time they are able to play computers, or even "use" computers. My parents always confine me from using computers until I got admission of an excellent college by changing the passwords of computer every day since I had successfully cracked the passwords one time. At first I opposed to this method all the time; yet through their ways of training the habit of studying, I actually studied while they were too busy to take care of me. In order to convince them into stop controlling me, I argued whenever I finished homework or had excellent performance in school. None of my persuasion worked.

However, this way of accumulating learning habit is too exhausting and too excruciating. To begin with, if my parents allowed me to play computers whenever I finished assignments without locking the computer, I could have a more satisfied childhood. They always said I could play video games after I get into an outstanding university. Nevertheless, this is not how reality works. College schoolwork is much more challenging, which I spent most of my leisure time occupying in assignments and projects. In other words, I miss the opportunity to play video games to the fullest in childhood. Besides, sometimes I cannot communicate with my friends since I do not have any childhood memories related to playing as much computers as possible, or I played only a few computer games compared to them. Therefore, it took me extra efforts to make friends because having the relatively comparable memories do help make new friends. As a result, if my parents did not control my leisure time, I could live more contented.

Accordingly, children should spend their leisure time playing or sporting while parents are too busy to control their activities since people only live once, they are supposed to have satisfied childhood instead of only studying and learning memories.