TPO-44: Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The high demands of the modern times require long, tedious work hours for parents, leaving them with inadequate time to tend to all their children’s need. In this situation, many argue that the best use of the time designated to children is to be spent on school related work, such as helping them with their homework or school projects. Others suggest it is most effective to spend this time for leisure activities. Although there are many pros and cons for both points of view, I believe it would be most beneficial if the few free hours parents have left after long work days be spent on fun activities. The reasons for my opinion are as follows.

Between the parent at work and children at school, there is already very little time for the family to connect. This insufficient time for bonding could lead to a growing tension in children, causing them to be hostile towards their parents and in demand of more of their time. If the few hours parent have for their children are dedicated to tedious schoolwork, I think this tension and hostile environment in the family could rise. This could push the children further away from their parents and into isolation. Whereas, thoughtful hours of fun, leisure activities, such as playing sports, going to the zoo or the park and playing games, could lead to an effective bonding and a growing affection and understanding between the children and their parents.

Another reason for my viewpoint is that if the children’s need for entertaining activities are not met within the family, they might turn to friends or other less trusted companions. With their parent not around to watch over them all the time, they could befriend the wrong people and put themselves in harm’s way. But, if their demand for excitement are met within the family or with their parents’ surveillance, troubling activities or behavior could be prevented.

Also, I believe by spending time with their children for activities that interest them, parent can develop a healthy relationship with their kids. Thus, the kids can turn to their parents for guidance whenever they require assistance and the parents can protect and guide their loved in difficult conditions. This relationship could also be effective for their schoolwork, because if ever it is required for parents to spend time with their children tending to problems in school, the kids will be more willing to listen and cooperate as they are more affectionate and trustworthy toward their parents.

Overall, I believe parents should balance their time with their children in order to tend to all their needs, including school related problems and demands for leisure activities. But when there is little time to be spent with the kids, parent should make entertainment and fun activities their priority in order to build a strong and healthy relationship with their loved ones.