TPO 45- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As technology grows, it brings us several changes in our lives that the previous generation, like our parents, cannot even imagine them. When it comes to making decisions, controversy surrounds the issue on whether children are able to decide on their own or not? Most parents have difficulty accepting their youth's dependence and they believe that there are several threats waiting for their youngsters in the society. Meanwhile, I strongly think that parents should give their children a chance to live the real life and decide by their own. To support my notion there are reasons as stated below.

One of the significant aspects of the ongoing discussion which needs to be reflected is that the educational methods have changed completely to make young people more independent relating to their decisions in life. That is to say, young people are prepared to do their own works like selecting their major, cooking, ironing, and lots of other things by themselves. This was impossible in the past because parents did not let their children to do the same things. Take my father's experience for instance, my grandparents wanted my father to select their favorite field of study just because they were farming and they needed an agricultural engineer. However, my father chose a different major and he is now a dentist, the field that he loved the most.

Another noteworthy aspect of the ongoing topic which demands a keen contemplation is that young people are now self-confident relating to their previous generation. This is because of the technology growth which makes their parents aware of their kids’ democracy. In fact, youngsters have more chance to find their answers by just checking the internet without asking their parents. Moreover, parents have less time than they used to allocate to their children, because they allot their utmost attempt to earn more money to facilitate their kids’ life. To illustrated, perhaps a first-hand experience can shed more light on the matter. Thanks to the invention of the computer I solved all my problems when I was in high school by just surfing the net, even if my problems were insignificant because there were several social networking webpages that people helped me instantly.

Paradoxically, being independent does not mean that youngsters can solve all the problems in their life. In fact, it is very difficult to disregard the parental bonding between family members. This means that parents are always have open ears to listen to their children in their hard times to solve and give precious advice. Plus, they are more experienced and can give valuable suggestions in lots of the cases.

In conclusion, just as I mentioned above, young people are able to decide by their own because they are not only well-educated to be independent but also technology helps them to improve their knowledge to solve any problem in their life.