TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

Undoubtedly, celebrities are an integral part of modern life who feature largely in changing the picture of societies by contribution to many charities and by spreading their ideas and concepts through communities. This brings up a controversial question: do celebrities influence the younger adults more than they do effect older people. Personally speaking, I strongly believe that younger individuals are more inspired from celebrities than older people do. There are three points in support of my viewpoint that are discussed in the following passage.

Firstly, younger individuals are often look forward to high social status. They firmly believe that famous athletes and actors possess higher social prestige because earn higher salaries than ordinary people. They are always major subject of breaking issues in magazines and newspaper and this is only because they more important than others. The significant role of celebrities in society gives the youth enough reasons to try to follow their lifestyle. Conversely, older people know that high social class is not that important so it is less likely to see an old person to follow a popular actress or sportsperson.

Furthermore, young people want to be modern. Unfortunately, teenagers always think that their parents are old-fashioned and their school of thought is rather old, so they prefer to obey models who are likely to be more modern. Modern people have special diets not traditional ones. They do not live in old-fashioned houses. They wear fashionable clothes that all fit better to modern and developed lives. Therefore, the young tend to imitate modernized role models that are suitable for modern life. However, old people never care about modernization and they are less attracted by the appearance of celebrities.

Finally, younger adults are inclined to have more fun. Younger adults want to be happy, spending a lot of time with their friends and freely spend money on their interests. Interestingly, celebrities are likely to have the same life way. Their lives seem to be so interesting since they are always traveling around the world and they do whatever they want to without any constraint. This is the convenient life by which most teenagers and young individuals are affected. As a result, as they see the happiness and satisfaction of celebrities they want to live the same as they live. On the other hand, older people find joy in being with their families, so they do not need to be similar to anyone to enjoy their lives.

To summarize, taking into account all these factors, I conclude that having a modern life full of joy with a high social prestige is what young people rather look forward to than older people do. Consequently, the youth are more influenced by celebrities’ life style.