TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

When it comes to news, people in general believe that it is enough for us that we should only care about things happening around us. On the other hand, quite a few people hold totally different points of views and they argue that people are supposed to know everything important happened on our planet. Even though things do not occur within our country, it is necessary for us to care about the whole world.

To begin with, it is true that we may not directly be influenced by things happening in other country. However, the world does not work due to the contribution of only one country. For example, if there is a huge fire burning the Amazon rain forests, and there is no related news spread out of the area. The fire burn for several days with only little efforts of local people to extinguish the fire. Then, we all know the obnoxious repercussion is that the fire exterminated many unique species, which are usually impossible to recover with the contributions of scientists. Nevertheless, if the news broadcast worldwide, people from other countries would dedicate themselves in attempts to put off the fire in order to prevent those precious and irreversible species becoming extinct. As a result, people are supposed to care about the whole world.

Moreover, keeping up with the trends also improve our own value, which will benefit not just society but also the planet. In addition, knowledge is power since the more we know about the world, the more adapt to this world we can be. With the gradual perspective of internationalism, people start to aware that they are competing with not just people of their own country, but those from other countries. Take China and India students for instance, they are known for their continuously diligent attitude toward studying. Hence, in my country, when I was young, my teachers and my parents always motivated me that I should work harder since if I did not, I would certainly be defeated by those hardworking students in India and China. Consequently, whenever I felt loose, my teachers’ and parents’ words emerged in my mind, and they actually worked as motivation to urge me to be more diligent.

Accordingly, people should not hesitate to know about events that happen around the world, even if they do not directly impact on our daily life.