TPO16

Some might argue traveling by oneself has more benefits than in a group led by a tour guide such as less expenses and freedom in choosing wherever you want to go. Generally speaking, I believe that there are more compelling reasons to support the idea that the best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

First and foremost, tour guides are familiar with all important places in the destination city so that it takes no time to be familiar with those places. I will be first to admit that the emergence of modern technologies such as Internet and modern cell phones has made it so easy for traveler to find important places in a city. However, tour guides know the shortest routes and even some places that we cannot easily find on the Internet. An prime example of my own experience may shed light on this point. Some of my friends and I went on a vacation last summer. Having returned to home, I talked with a tour guide and realized we did not visit a famous restaurant in that city. If a tour guide had accompanied us, we could have visited that fantastic restaurant.

Secondly, you are less worried when you travel with a tour. Since tour guides are in charge to accumodation and the means of transportation, travelers are less woried. Although some people might like to arrange their trip by themself, most prefer to spend their time enjoying their trip. I will exemplify this point by a true story about something that happened to me. Two years ago, my family and I went to Shiraz (a historical city in iran), we were faced with a lot of problems we did not expect due to myriad travels who came there. We could not rent a room. Therefore, we had to return to home. This experience can show how much this point is importnat to consider when you want to travel.

Finally, it is more fun to go on a trip with other people. People can be familiar with each other and make friends when they travel with each other. Of course, some people might be introverted and unwilling to make friends with others, but travelers are mostly extroveted because they want to know about different cultures and people. For example, one of the best trip that I have ever had is when I make friends with some Americans when I visited the US. Even after my trip, I am in touch with them.

In the light of these reasons, it can be concluded the advantages of travelling in a group led by a tour guide outweigh its disadvantages. In a group you are less worried and you just enjoy your trip by making friends with new people. Moreover, you can visit all palces you might no be able to see without a tour guide.