TPO21 – Independent: A/D? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

To gain a promising job, in modern world, is somehow closely linked to the excellent capability to relate well to people in work places-i.e., people at work put a premium on networking than ever before. And this phenomenon makes students wonder whether they should concentrate on training interpersonal skills or studying hard in school. After weighing the merits and demerits of both sides, I am firmly leaning towards the latter.

Firstly, knowledge and skills which students acquires from the school give them a competitive edge seeking a promising future job. Only when they lay a solid foundation of knowledge can they probably accomplish every task well assigned to them in long term. Based on the belief, many companies give paper tests to evaluate how much their applicants know, so if they are not diligent in study, ten to one they could not give correct answers , which reduces their likelihood to get admitted to the next turn-an audition. Therefore, our proficiency in the knowledge of the field we choose gives rise to a greater possibility to approach our dream job.

On top of that, knowledge is the cornerstone used to grapple with problems in daily work; hence, it is generally considered that people who are industrious in school and have a mastery of relevant background knowledge as well as real marketable skills are favored by leaders and bosses. For instance, my brother, a guy who didn’t speak a lot and worked as a computer programmer in a foreign company, once addressed a critical bug that perplexed anyone else in his team. Owing to the credit for tackling the problem and his constantly prominent performance, he was promoted to a high-paying position and everybody was convinced he deserved it. Drawing on his experience,I learned that it is the knowledge you utilize, your capacity for combating problems that could speak for you. But interpersonal skills could rarely be the key tool for you to work out a problem.

Granted, interpersonal skills could be a perfect complement to one’s substantive work capacity;however, as one's performance at work is used to assess the employees values by the leaders, networking could only be a bonus point that could never replace his performance at all. Imagine someone who are flattering his colleagues and leaders all day but could not even finish his basic work, who would cherish him? The truth is that they are considered as sycophants and not enabled to play a pivotal role in any assignment. Rather, only studying hard, having a comprehensive understanding of knowledge and efficiently accomplishing his own job can he truly win people's respect around him.

On the basis of above statements, studying hard in school matters much more than networking. Just like a dish, interpersonal skills-some seasoning, do not create a dish, but knowledge, the marketable skills you have learned at school-the ingredients, could make delicacies.