In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Some people think we will use cars less in twenty years from now, while others argue that demand for automobiles will increase in future. In my opinion the first statement is true for multiple reasons which are financial, technological and psychological.

Financially, the price of nonrenewable fuels such as gasoline keep going up and people would find it more economical to use public transportation. Besides, due to environmental concerns governments will impose more taxes on fossil fuels. That would make automobiles unaffordable for many people.

From technological perspective, expected advances in technology will provide more efficient public transportation systems especially in large cities. Therefore, development of various types of public transportation such as subways, LRTs and etc. makes it easier to have access to every corner of the cities. For instance, the studies show that in my hometown, Tehran, the subway will be the first choice for transportation within 10 years. The reasons are clear; the numbers of Tehran subway lines and stations are growing rapidly. Besides, it is planned that more modern wagons to be added to the subway system. That would allow people to reach every neighborhood in Tehran in shorter time every year.

Psychologically, people are becoming more and more overwhelmed with troubles of living in metropolises. They are definitely unhappy with time spent waiting in traffic or searching for parking lots, so they might be willing to give up their cars and rely on public transportation which will be more developed in future.

To sum up, in the near future there will be fewer cars in use than today because more people will realize that owning an automobile is costly and using public transportation will be more convenient.