in twenty years there will be fewer cars used than they are today

Since the beginning of the current century, the number of cars has changed drastically. Some people believe that after twenty years, the number of cars will decline because people will use bikes instead of cars; however, there is a substantial body of evidence that casts doubts on this belief. From a personal perspective in twenty years, people will be more dependent on their cars, so the number of cars will increase given that human population will increase, commute time will be longer, and cars will be more technologically advanced. Below I will strive to explain my supporting points in more detail.

The first and foremost point, although big cities have various job opportunities, the cost of living in these cities is very high. A vivid example that could be given to shed light on that is San Francisco city has many occupations; however, the house costing is incredible. Thus, people prefer to live in a city that more affordable for them and drive to their work. Furthermore, this problem is seemed to enlarge in the near future, which makes people use their cars more often. Consequently, the number of cars will increase.

Next, coupled with longer commute time, the human population is another reason why cars will constantly be increasing. To put it in another word, increasing the population will accompany growth in car usage. A survey conducted by Oxford University found that in 2050 the number of vehicles on roads will be about three billion cars up from one billion now. In addition to that, people in developed countries are accustomed to using their cars, so the rate of cars on the road will increase. Therefore, the number of cars will increase as fast as its human population.

Ultimately, technologically advanced cars are another subtable point that should be born in mind. In the last decade, cars have improved dramatically, which encourages people to have cars. For instance, hybrid cars, which is not only environmentally-friendly, but also cost-effective. Moreover, cars today are more comfortable and faster. Provided that car companies continue to have more car innovation, people will use cars more in the future. As a result, cars' features will make people more dependent on their cars.

Taking everything into consideration, without a doubt, the number of cars on the road will increase in twenty years. It is suggested that governments put stricter rules to ensure the safety of roads.