Universities should spend more money on facilities (such as computer lab and technology in general) rather than on hiring some famous professors.

Since the dawn of civilizations, universities have played significant role in societies. It is completely clear that the foundation of universities is lying on 2 main pillars, namely professors and facilities. In recent decades, this observation has led to a controversial question which is often raised regarding these two, and the way authorities in university must prioritize them. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that facilities like computer labs and alike, are more important and deserve more financing; while others look at this debate through a different lens, and assign more value to hiring famous professors. Personally I am more in agreement with the latter one. In the following paragraphs, three conspicuous reasons will cogently substantiate my perspective.

The first noteworthy point regarding the issue is the experiences and abilities of well-known professors to educate students. The main reason for establishing a university is leaning something new. Students will come to University to learn, and learning will not be achieved solely through good equipment. For example imagine that a student has enrolled in university with best available facilities and laboratories. Although, this person is in a very promising environment, if he cannot reach a teacher with suitable capability to learn from; then, all these gadgets will be just expensive toys. In reality and for learning, if you have good professor and nothing else, you can learn, maybe with difficulty, but you can. On the other hand, if you have best technologies but no one to learn from, then in reality you will learn nothing.

Another reason which deserves some words here is the ability of famous professor to gather more money and financial supply for any university. Imagine a company that want to run a study on specific subject, something like new drug for cancer. if you were the CEO of this firm which you would choose: a good lab with cutting age technology but a very ordinary professor at the head who has no worthy academic finding or important work in science, or an ordinary lab with a very famous professor at the head, someone who already has shown his ability to do scientific experiment and reaching promising result at the end of study. I think as a CEO, a person responsible for company success, you will definitely choose the second scenario. Hence, this perspective in managers and owners of firms and companies will lead to absorption of more money in universities with famous names in their catalogues. Then, these universities can use this more money, and supply the professors with better tools.

Finally, in addition to what was mentioned above, as recent studies have revealed students choose their university not based on labs and facilities, but according to persons and professors who are teaching there. For example, a recent study which was conducted on one thousand first year students in USA, shows that roughly 70 percent of these students choose their university based on the professors who are there. the result of this study is proof for this hypothesis that famous names attracts more students, and the number of young people who want to enroll in universities with famed professors is more than students who prefer high quality facilities and equipment. Moreover this high enrolment requests can bring more financial supply for university, an additional budget that is very.

To make a long story short, all of the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that hiring famous professors for university is more important than equip this university with cutting edge technology. However, that was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are some other reasons and examples, challenging the claim, which are not mentioned above. Finally, it is suggested that a survey be conducted to find out the exact factors involved in this issue.