When people need to complain about a product or poor service, some prefer to complain in writing and others prefer to complain in person. Which way do you prefer?

Upon the question would you like to complain in person or writing, different people have different opinions based on their emotions, educations, cultures, etc. From my point of view, each option has its own advantages and disadvantages. But I think the benefits of complaining in writing outweigh the benefits of other option. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, writing and sending mail is a more convenient way. For example, I live in a small town far from Tehran. Most companies and corporations are located in capital. So that, if I want to complain about a product in person, I have to travel to another city. Having a trip has its own difficulties such as extra costs, tiredness and so forth. Furthermore, most managers and bosses are busy and they do not have enough time to meet people. But they usually read letters or hire persons who read mails and respond to them.

In the second place, it is possible to forget something in a personal meeting. For instance, I purchased a laptop computer last year but it did not work properly. Instead of complaining in writing, I preferred to go to Tehran and meet the head of the company. When I visited him, I complained about the poor service but I completely forget to talk about the weaknesses of the computer. Additionally, I could not control my feeling and became angry. In my opinion, writing a letter does not have these problems and people can complain about a low-quality product or poor service easily.

Finally, it is important to bear in mind that I can use the letter as a proof in necessary cases.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that complaining in writing is an easy way to inform managers about their products. It has lots of advantages which I outlined above.