“When people succeed, it is because of hard work. Luck has

nothing to do with success.” Do you agree or disagree with the

quotation above? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your

position.

Luck vs. Hard work

Some people say that people succeed because of their hard work, whereas some others argue that luck plays an important role in determining success. Although sometimes people succeed because of luck, it’s generally diligence, perseverance and determination that determine a person’s success. Hence, I strongly believe that people succeed because of their hard work.

First, I can daresay that hard work makes people succeed because I’ve seen it. My father, son of a farmer of a small village was sent to school along with his siblings and cousins. They had to walk around 5km from their home to the school and another 5km on the way back to home. After they returned to their home, sometimes they even had to go to work in the fields. As it used to be strenuous, no one was able to concentrate much on their studies, except for my father. He studied hard and got a job in a city. Although, his siblings and cousins went to the same school as he did, none of them studied as my father did and hence, they had to stay back at the village. Only his hard work got a job in a city. He never stopped working hard even after getting a job. He started from a few 1000 bucks and now we own a car, a big independent house with almost every possible appliance and some other assets as well. Every day he works hard and I witness his success every day. Hence, I strongly believe that hard work makes people succeed.

Secondly, I also believe that luck is nothing but an opportunity. People might get lucky now and then. But, only people who use those lucky opportunities and work hard would succeed. Considering me as an example, I’m lucky to have such a wonderful father. As his son, I have the privilege of going to a good school. Now, if I succeed because of studying in that good school, people might say that I was lucky to have a father who could afford that school. I don’t demur that I’m lucky, but just going to a good school wouldn’t make me successful. I must use that opportunity and study hard, only then I would succeed. Hence, again its hard work that makes people successful.

Thus, in my opinion, its hard work, not luck, that plays an important role in determining a person’s success.