Why do you think some people are attracted to dangerous sports or other dangerous activities? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From the beginning of time, humans have taken part in sports. These sports varied vastly and have been changing ever since. Many people like participating in sports that require skills, patience and calculated timing and positions, such as archery and cricket. Then we have sports that are dangerous and reckless, such as rugby and bull riding. Although there is the obvious risk of serious injuries and deaths in these sports, people still opt to play them.

In my opinion, people take part in such sports in order to prove their bravery. Being able to play and survive the game such as bull riding is seen as a medal of honor and admired by their friends and family members.

Places where dangerous sport is widespread, such as bull fighting in countries like Spain and Portugal, it is not only acceptable for people to be interested in such sports, in fact it is also encouraged. People either participate or cheer on others as they compete in such sports. Being opposed to the idea of such sports in such countries may be seen as being cowardly or weak.

Another reason why people are attracted to dangerous sports despite the risks is that it can be thrilling. People who like are risk-takers and like to live in the moment particularly enjoy such sports. These are usually young people who are carefree and do not have responsibilities such as supporting families etc. They have no one to worry about but themselves and so they do not mind taking such risks.

To sum up, I believe the reason why people are attracted to dangerous sports is due the thrill they provide as well as proving that they are bold enough to attempt such sports. Other reasons for this interest could be because it is encouraged in one's culture or because they are carefree and enjoy doing things that are out of the ordinary.