You have been told that dormitory rooms at your university must be shared by two students. Would you rather have the university assign a student to share a room with you or would you rather choose your own room? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Despite the difficulties having a roommate may cause, I personally would like to share my room with another person. The reasons why I support having roommate is discussed in the following passage.

Firstly, sharing a room with another person helps students bond with other people. In fact, university students are mostly involved with their assignments and projects and they rarely have sufficient time to spend with their friends or classmates. Interestingly, having a roommate would be a good opportunity for them to communicate with other people with different levels of experience and knowledge. Not only this, they can learn from each other whether directly when they talk with each other or indirectly when they see distinctive lifestyle of their roommate. For example, last semester, although I was so busy with my projects, my roommate and I frequently shared our own experiences and memories when we came back from university. Not only was it a good opportunity to learn more about our cultures, but also we were able to help each other with our problems in our studies.

Furthermore, sharing a room with roommate is a good way to save time. Certainly, it would be time-consuming for a university student to take on all responsibilities of managing a room, from cleaning the place to paying the bills. However, when people have roommate, the workload is shared between the residents so they would find it beneficial to do more in less time. For instance, in busy times of the end of the semester, it is quite likely for both students to finish the house chores in a shorter time period to save their time for studying and doing class assignment.

Finally, another good reason why I prefer having a roommate rather than to be alone is that it would be more interesting. Unfortunately, almost all students complained of the hectic days they have on campus. Nonetheless, spending some time with a roommate telling jokes or watching comics refreshes your mind after a drained day. In other words, a considerate roommate is serious on his or her studies, but is well aware that joy and excitement is an integral part of the life. For example, my roommate and I scheduled to have some time together playing guitar and violin in the evenings. Therefore, we had lots of fun that made our mind free so we could do a better job when it was the time to do our homework.

Overall, taking into account all these factors, I definitely believe that having a roommate is a great idea to communicate with other adults, save more time and have lots of fun.