You have been told that dormitory rooms at your university must be shared by two students. Would you rather have the university assign a student to share a room with you, or would you rather choose your own roommate? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Depending on personal experience, personality type, and emotional concern, we find that some people hold the idea of choosing their own roommates, while others prefer to let the universities select theirs. From my point of view, it is more advisable to have the school assign one’s roommate rather than allow him to decide one on his own. My arguments for this point are listed as follows.

I agree with the statement that universities should appoint roommates for students since it creates a golden opportunity for them to broaden their knowledge. Naturally, they are bound to learn more about new concepts and sometimes even a whole new culture. It can be illustrated by a concrete example of my cousin and her Korean roommate. After a year of sharing the same room, they were both satisfied to have been assigned together as they gained not only valuable academic knowledge but also interesting facts about the other’s country. At first, my cousin was not happy with the fact that she had to live with a brand new stranger from a different country. But now she even managed to learn some Korean and a few traditional cuisines from her roommate. If she had chosen her only bunkmate, she would have missed the chance to broaden her horizon about other culture. Hence, it is easy to see that having the universities assign roommates for students is a good way for them to acquired more fascinating information.

Another factor contributing to my preference is the fact that letting the university decide one’s roommate is beneficial to students in terms of self-perfection. Needless to say, sharing a room with a stranger is by all means not easy, it requires a person to be responsible and respectful at the same time. Take my friend’s story as an example, he had always been an overindulged child, he never had to take care of his own chores and barely listened to anyone. However, after two years studying abroad and sharing a room with a stranger, he came back as an entirely new person who was independent and understanding. Had he not had the experience of living with an unfamiliar person, he would not have had the chance to acknowledge his weakness and change for the better. Broadly speaking, having schools to appoint one’s bunkmate creates a better chance for students to perfect themselves.

Of course, arguments swill be raised against my standpoint. Some people might argue that choosing their own roommates ensures the chance of them getting along with each other and provides students with emotion supports. Surely, choosing this option has advantages to an extent, but if all these factors are contemplated, the advantages of universities assigning roommates carry more weight than students deciding their own. Because students will have to adjust themselves for the better to adapt to the new life of sharing a room with others; also, an unfamiliar bunkmate can be as much of an emotional support as an acquaintance once they got to know each other. Hence, I believe all the difficulties that can be solved by a chosen roommate can also be handled by a completely new one.

Ultimately, I find myself definitely agree with those who assert that universities should match roommates together. This is because of the valuable knowledge and self-improving opportunities it offers. Therefore it is important that students take these presented ideas into careful considerations so that they can enjoy their stay in college as well as gain more beneficial experiences.