Young people nowadays do not give enough time to their communities

I am in my twentys, I look around myself and I do not see my friends and other people my age do not share the same empathy that a person should have. Their lives are mostly emphsized themselves, and they are being active participants of the community.

What I mean is, the young portion of the community is no longer helping in a lot of aspects of the community, for example, there is no gathering to talk about the handicaped people's rights anymore. There has been so long that university students published any sort of newspaper. It is like they do not have an opinion about anything in their community. There are other examples too, like there is no movement to stop obesety or to help the poor.

This is uncaring behavior. Our community did not used to be like this, we used to be a community that people came to each other's aid when needed. That is completely gone these days. I remember my father saying that back then when he went to college, there had been a lot of campus newletters, a lot of extra curricular activity which would benifit the community.

There was a recent study by Harvard University, It researched behaviors between people who are active, did things that were not mandetory, like stuff that beneifits the community, against people who are not active and just go about their own life. This research turned out that a signifacnt portion of the people who volunteered their life to extra curriculars, felt more happier ad fullfilled in their life.

To fix this, I believe changes should be done at every level, starting from the schools. If the children know the importance of caring about their own enviorment, they will grow up to be responsible parents. Another thing is that, if someone sees the good his or her actions do in community, they will probably be intreaged and want to be more helpfull to the community. So there should be more activities organized, and new members should always be welcome.