In your country, is there more need for land to be left in its natural condition or is there more need for land to be developed for housing and industry? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The advent of industry has led to massive deforestation and to cutting the natural vegetation during the last two centuries, all over the world. This has happened in my country too, and the results are negative from various reasons. From my point of view, there is no need for more land for housing and industry because there are many other possibilities to make use of the existent one. I will explain my statement in the following essay.

First and foremost, people's desire of purchasing new build houses has increased considerably lately. However, there are few investors who started to build modern residential places, mostly because they cannot find available land. Anyway, this problem could be resolved if the government would regulate the policy regarding old houses. Generally, most apartments are more than 40 or 50 years old, and consequently they became fragile. In other words, authorities should decide which is the maximum age for a building to stand up. For instance, in Turkey, apartment buildings cannot be older than 50 years. In this case, the authorities destroy the houses and construct new ones, and thus there is no need for expanding the land in order to make room for houses.

To continue with, the industry has unfortunately decreased a lot in the last 30 years. Before this our country was quite developed in many sectors such as clothing, automobile, food industry and so forth. In addition, there were many functional factories, which sadly, are in a deplorable state at the present time. Therefore, if a new business is to develop, someone can buy one of these old factories and start his industry there. For example, there was an old building in my village and a foreign investor bought and rebuild it, and after this he opened a textile factory. Moreover, it offered other advantages for villagers, and many of the could find jobs close to their homes. So, purchasing and re-profiling old buildings and factories, is a viable solution for those who start a new business.

To summarize, land should not be exploited for housing and industry in my native state. This is due to the fact that old apartments should be demolished in order to make space for modern ones and because there are numerous abandoned factories that can serve to new industries.