Computer technology
One of the most conspicuous trends in today’s world is the colossal upsurge in the inventions of
antibiotics, aeroplanes and the computer. There is a widespread worry that this will only lead to a myriad of
concerns in society. In my opinion, the invention of the computer has more negative impacts than
positive while antibiotics and aeroplanes are boons for society.
On the one hand, critics may point out that one of the most significant benefits of the inventions of
antibiotics is the increased potential in survivability. For example, human, unlike in the past now have
less chance to get diseases like smallpox, viruses and invisible bacteria as it increases the strength to the human body to fight with these diseases, thanks to efficient development in antibiotics.
On the other hand, there is a deluge of arguments in my favour of stance. One of the most preponderant
one is that the invention of the computer has negative consequences for the community in various ways.
Firstly, the invention of the computer is taking roles of human which resulted in an increased unemployment
rate, such as in car manufacturing sector. According to the “Times Magazine January 2013 edition”, the
proportion of unemployment rate in America has increased from 10 percent to 30 percent. Secondly,
people are much more relying on technology and becoming lazier and less efficient.
Lastly, in my opinion, the government of Dubai is taking a great initiative in educating its citizens against
the negative impact of the computer. Citizens are being encouraged to spend a significant portion of their
time in physical activities like games and exercises in order to compensate for their computer reliance
addiction.
In the view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite having some benefits,
the drawback of the invention of the computer is indeed too dire to ignore.