Computer technology has had more of a negative than a positive impact on society How far do you agree with this statement? Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is to see the colossal upsurge in the use of computer technology. there is a widespread worry that this will only lead to a myriad of concerns in society. In my opinion, computer technology has more negative impacts than positive in society.

On the one hand, critics may point out that one of the most significant benefits of computer technology is the availability of extra time. For example, mother, unlike in the past, now have more time to spend with their families, as less time is spent on the house chores, thanks to efficient computerised household machinery.

On the other hand, there is a deluge of arguments in favour of my stance. one of the most preponderant ones is that computer dependency has negative consequences for the community in various ways. Firstly, people are losing jobs because machines are increasingly taking over the roles of humans, such as in the car manufacturing sector. According to “Times Magazines January 2013 edition”, the proportion of Americans employed in manufacturing has dropped from 30 percent to 10 percent today. Secondly, a large portion of the human population has lost enthusiasm because of technological dependency and is increasingly becoming lazier and less efficient.

Lastly, in my opinion, the government of Dubai is taking a great initiative in educating its citizens against the negative impact of computer technology. citizens are being encouraged to spend a significant portion of their time in physical ability like games and exercises in order to compensate for their computer reliance addiction.

In the view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite having some benefits, the drawback of computer technology is indeed too dire to ignore.