Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or is it the responsibility of producer

Packaging is necessary to retain quality and maintain safety of the product. Sometimes the product with excessive package is a quite unnecessary to customers as well as manufacturers. Some people think that consumers should not support this by avoiding the purchase of over packaged products, while others argue that product manufacturers should take a step by reducing the package volume. I am inclined to believe that this excess packaging of the product should be stopped at producer level. The following paragraphs will analyze its disadvantages and suggest other best possible solution.

First of all, people expect some products like snacks should be less packed or unpacked. So that can be consumed on the move easily. But most of the food products are packed in plastic wrappers and cardboard sheets, which people will litter on the streets and cause environmental pollution. For instance, McDonalds is the first company, introduced over packaging food products with plastic wrappers and covers and encouraged people to eat on the go.

Second of all, manufacturing companies are reducing the quantity and quality of the products by increasing the packaging materials to survive in this competitive market. Consequently, packaging material manufacturers are making more profit by introducing advanced packaging materials. Instead, the product producers should invest in improving the quality of the products. For example, Amazon online delivery products are packed with multi layers of heavy plastic materials which are discarded and sent to landfills.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that over packaging of the products does not add any value and the producers should avoid it by investing more to enhance the quality. Further, it is expected that the people make cognizance of the fact and avoid over packaged products.